top of page

Chapter 7 vs. Chapter 13 - Which is Right for You

Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 Bankruptcy are two distinct legal mechanisms under the United States Bankruptcy Code, designed to provide individuals and couples with a means to address financial distress and find a fresh start. While both chapters offer a path to debt relief, they operate quite differently in terms of eligibility, objectives, and the manner in which they address debts and assets.

Chapter 7 Bankruptcy: Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, often referred to as "liquidation" or "straight bankruptcy," is typically a quicker and more straightforward process. It is designed for individuals and couples who have little to no disposable income and are unable to repay their debts. Here are some key characteristics of Chapter 7 Bankruptcy:

  1. Liquidation of Assets: In a Chapter 7 case, a court-appointed Bankruptcy Trustee sells non-exempt assets to pay off creditors. However, many types of property are protected from liquidation through exemptions that vary by state. Exempt property may include essential items like your primary residence, personal possessions, and retirement accounts.

  2. Debt Discharge: Chapter 7 results in the discharge of most unsecured debts, such as credit card debts, medical bills, and personal loans. This means you are no longer legally obligated to repay those debts, and creditors are prohibited from pursuing collection efforts.

  3. Quick Process: Chapter 7 cases are usually completed within a few months, providing debtors with a relatively swift fresh start.

  4. Means Test: To qualify for Chapter 7, you must pass a means test, which evaluates your income and expenses to determine if you have the financial means to repay your debts. If you don't pass the means test, you may be required to file for Chapter 13 Bankruptcy.

Chapter 13 Bankruptcy: Chapter 13 Bankruptcy, often called "reorganization" or "wage earner's bankruptcy," is designed for individuals or sole proprietors with a regular income who can afford to repay a portion of their debts over a three to five-year period. Here are some key characteristics of Chapter 13 Bankruptcy:

  1. Repayment Plan: Chapter 13 involves creating a court-approved repayment plan that outlines how you will repay your creditors over a specified period. This plan is based on your disposable income, after necessary living expenses, and must cover certain priority debts, such as taxes and child support.

  2. Asset Protection: Unlike Chapter 7, Chapter 13 typically allows you to keep all your assets, even if they are not exempt. The value of your non-exempt assets is factored into the repayment plan, determining the amount to be paid to unsecured creditors.

  3. Debt Consolidation: This form of bankruptcy helps consolidate and restructure your debts, making it easier to manage your financial obligations.

  4. Protection from Creditors: Chapter 13 provides a legal shield that prevents creditors from pursuing collection actions while you adhere to the repayment plan.

  5. Eligibility: Unlike Chapter 7, which relies on a means test, Chapter 13 doesn't have strict income requirements. Instead, it focuses on the ability to propose and adhere to a feasible repayment plan.

In summary, the main difference between Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 Bankruptcy lies in their objectives and the treatment of assets and debts. Chapter 7 is primarily a liquidation process, suited for individuals with minimal disposable income and a desire for a quick discharge of unsecured debts. In contrast, Chapter 13 focuses on debt reorganization and provides a structured, manageable way for individuals with regular income to repay their debts while protecting their assets. The choice between these two chapters depends on your specific financial situation and goals, as well as the guidance of legal professionals who can help you navigate the complex bankruptcy process.

Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page